Lamarche-sur-Saone
Saint Bartholomew's Church
The 19th-century building is unique in that it has two bell towers, each 52 meters high. Only seven other churches of this design exist in France.
Legend has it that the builders originally wanted to construct a single bell tower. However, this tower would have been larger than the one at Dijon's Saint-Bénigne Cathedral, and so the bishopric rejected the project. The builders then decided to split the bell tower into two.
The Lamarchotte Chapel
Built in the 11th century, the chapel underwent several alterations in the 17th and 19th centuries. Its façade still bears a 15th-century Pietà of the Virgin. The original building was likely constructed of lightweight materials, such as wood and brick.
During the Revolution, the chapel was confiscated for the benefit of the Nation and sold. It became the property of the municipality in 1845.
The Camille Baudry Bridge
The presence of a bridge in Lamarche is already mentioned in the 13th century; destroyed several times over the following centuries, it was initially made of wood and then of stone. The suspension bridges of Lamarche and Heuilley were rebuilt after the Franco-Prussian War of 1870. In 1912, work was carried out to replace the suspended span of the bridge with a metal deck.
Destroyed during the Second World War, a temporary wooden bridge replaced it, and then the current metal bridge was built in 1969.